Building blocks – the progression of my first quilt

Brief hiatus on the quilt front due to a few days at the seaside (Sheringham, Norfolk). This is the fourth year that my family has decamped there. And this time the sun shone! Despite the lack of quilt progress, I did manage to get some cross stitching in in the evenings.

Anyway, back to the quilt. Despite feeling a bit ‘can’t be bothered’ due to a 5am start with little man, followed by a day at work (keeping in touch day as I’m on maternity leave), I decided to get stuck into my cot quilt and I’m so glad I did, it’s come together nicely.

I started by laying out all the blocks which I’d sewn way back when – last July! They needed a bit of ironing after being crumpled in a bag for a year.

20140703-213627-77787812.jpg

Then I pinned and sewed them together. Love my pretty quilting pins, but I did come a cropper later by being lazy and not taking them out as they neared the needle.

20140703-213721-77841991.jpg

Ending up with rows like this:

20140703-213850-77930566.jpg

Then I sewed the left row to the centrepiece, followed by the right row. Unfortunately, at this point, my needle broke when it caught one of my lovely pins.

20140703-214021-78021695.jpg

Onwards and upwards, with a new needle in, I attached the top and bottom rows and it currently looks like this.

20140703-214116-78076006.jpg

Not perfect in terms of matching seams. But pretty pleased with the progress I’ve made this evening. This blog is certainly motivating. I’m making lots if quilting errors on my way, if you saw the back, you’d be appalled. But it’s a start. How did you all learn to quilt? Am I mad going it alone?

6 thoughts on “Building blocks – the progression of my first quilt

  1. If you are mad, going it alone on quilting is not evidence of it! My first quilts were all by myself. I didn’t know any other quilters so had no human to ask. Back then — only 10 years ago! — there weren’t blogs to find where I could drop a question to ask someone, anyone, to help me! However, there were some really good websites and I spent a lot of time reading hints and tips and ideas. I had a couple of good books for more information. Everything I did took so long, because it was the first time and I had to puzzle it all out by myself.

    In some ways, though, that very isolation was a blessing. By having to figure it all out the hard way, really digging into it, I learned more than I would have if I’d taken a couple of classes for specific techniques. I learned how to convert almost any rotary-cut pattern to make the blocks any size I wanted, rather than the pattern size. And I quickly learned that the “grid” (4-patch, 9-patch, etc) affects which blocks work well together.

    I’ve designed almost all my own work. When I took the first bed quilts to a long-armer, she asked me whose pattern I used. I didn’t even know what she meant. I didn’t know you could buy patterns!

    So going it alone sometimes isn’t ideal, but it worked well for me.

    NOW, however, you don’t need to be alone. If you have questions, you’re welcome to ask. I can’t speak for other bloggers, but you’re welcome to drop a question into any of my comment threads, even if it isn’t about the blog post. I’ll help you if I can.

    I think your cot quilt will be a very sweet gift for the baby. (The seams look well-matched, to me. And as for the back, there are some tips that can help with that. Let me know if you have questions. )

    Best of luck, and have fun!

Leave a Reply

