Piecing

Now the piecing of the memory quilt. begins. It’s hard. And headache inducing. I’m being paid to make this quilt for a friend’s little boy who turns one on Friday. I’m behind schedule so think it’ll be late … No change there!

I’ve cut out 84 of my squares, or squares totalling 84 6″x6″ squares. I was aiming for 88 squares. But I’ve run out of interfacing (more arriving Monday), so I thought I’d see how it looks with what I’ve cut so far.

I laid out some old wadding which is similar in size to the finished quilt size.
IMG_0572.JPG

All my squares neatly stacked ready to start piecing.

IMG_0573.JPG

Although I’ve been asked to cut different sized squares, I think my friend prefers the uniform look of squares which are all the same size, like this:

IMG_0574.JPG

But I don’t have enough squares that size, so I added in the 9×9 and 3×3 squares:

IMG_0575.JPG

I knew she wouldn’t be too keen on this look, and I think that too many small squares together looks a bit messy. So, I switched in some 6×6 squares, like this:

IMG_0576.JPG

I then added a row of 3×3 squares between each bigger row. Overall, I’m left with this:

IMG_0577.JPG

Needs a lot of tweaking to balance it out. I think my friend will find it too busy! Maybe I’ll start again tomorrow. It may mean getting rid of the 9×9 squares and having alternating rows of 6×6 and 3×3. Which means I’ll need to get cutting again! Zzzz

Leave a Reply

