Tickled pink – little girl’s memory quilt completed

I’m baaaaaaaack! Hanging my head in shame for taking so long to complete my second memory quilt. But it’s done now and that’s what matters. Late for Christmas, but sneaking in ahead of time for the recipient’s 3rd birthday, which is on Saturday.

My little helper looks very pleased with the finished result.

DSC_0096

As with my last quilt (which now belongs to the younger brother of the birthday girl), I quilted some stars on some of the plainer squares, to keep the quilt top and wadding together.

DSC_0094 DSC_0099 DSC_0096 DSC_0088 DSC_0093

I found this quilt much more enjoyable to work with, I think it’s the girly colours and details like the bows and buttons. I’m especially pleased I managed to salvage the little teddy that can sit on or in the pocket of the white corduroy. I can’t wait to see some photos of the birthday girl and her quilt. She was very jealous when her little brother got his, which was in October. So hopefully she’ll be pleased she’s got one now too.

This quilt, as the other, was commissioned by a friend. I’ve given her mates/never-done-this-before-so-it’s-a-learning-curve rates. Assuming that I’d speed up a bit on this second quilt, I decided to keep track of the hours I spent on it, in order to work out whether, going forward, memory quilts are ‘worth’ doing. The scores on the doors are interesting reading. For me, anyway. So I thought I’d share.

  • Cutting interfacing/cutting squares out of baby clothes/ironing on interfacing: 7.5 hours
  • Piecing: 4 hours
  • Sewing: 8 hours
  • Quilting: 45 mins
  • Trimming: 1.5 hours
  • Handsewing: 30 mins

Almost 23 hours in total, and that’s probably on the conservative side, I can’t imagine I logged all my hours. Once I had deducted the cost of the materials (interfacing, wadding, backing) from my fee, my hourly rate worked out at a pitiful £3 p/h! BUT, as my husband said, I do enjoy doing it, so it’s nice to earn a little from doing something I enjoy. I started this quilt at the beginning of November, so it’s taken me just over 2 months to do 23 hours work on it! Depressing thought.

As my timings show, the cutting up of the baby clothes takes almost as long as the sewing together of them. Despite this being a quilt, the quilting itself is minimal so takes little time. I’m hopeful but also doubtful that I’ll speed up on piecing. It’s quite fun moving all the squares around trying different colour combinations, like a big jigsaw puzzle.

Having learnt many lessons from my first memory quilt, did I improve this time? I think so. I started off much more organised with this quilt, cutting out all my interfacing first so that once I’d cut the squares from the baby clothes, I could iron the interfacing straight on. I also used fewer smaller squares than my first quilt, as the smaller squares are more fiddly and therefore more time-consuming to sew together. However, I still had to increase the number of smaller squares as they do add interest and are good to create patterns from. Most of the baby clothes I was given were newborn so it was hard to get big squares out of them too. I washed my backing fabric before cutting and attaching it this time (well the first batch, I may have forgotten to wash the second batch, but it worked out fine – phew …). My stitching in the ditch and slipstitch both still have room for improvement but are a lot better on this quilt.

Things to remember for my next (?!) quilt:

  • Use a denim needle when working with thicker fabrics. I must’ve broken at least 3 needles on this quilt.
  • Wash the backing fabric first.
  • Stop and THINK before cutting up the backing fabric for the borders and backing. I ended up having to order a second lot of backing fabric when I cut the borders out first, which, because of the way I’d cut them, meant I hadn’t enough fabric left for the backing. The end result being that I didn’t have the quilt ready in time for Christmas.
  • Try a stitch-in-the-ditch quilting foot – I think this may help me a lot.

The sewing machine has been packed away and I’m off to read a book before bed. Next up, I want to do a belated review of what I made last year. Then, I’m itching to get knitting again. But, I still have many unfinished projects to complete before I can start anything new. Not that that’s stopped me before! I’ve got to live up to my name, after all.

4 thoughts on “Tickled pink – little girl’s memory quilt completed

  1. Wow, a lot of work has gone into this beautiful quilt – I hope your friend’s little girl is pleased. Well I think she will be! Haha it’s funny how it took you two months to do 23 hours work.

Leave a Reply

