Flagging

I’ve now cut out 419 flags for the bunting for my friend’s wedding. I’m one of her six bridesmaids. Her colour theme is ‘sunset’ and the six of us are all wearing different dresses, two in each colour: coral/orange, fushia and daffodil. I think it’ll look great.

So, I finally got around to using my new toy, the pinking blade I bought for my rotary cutter. Once I was up and running, I was cutting through 4 layers of fabric at a time. So it hasn’t taken me long to do. MUCH quicker than cutting by hand with pinking shears. 

  

I cut the fabric into 8″ strips, then marked the points of the triangles using tailor’s chalk. No messing around with washable fabric pen this time.

 
I switched to a different bunting template, which left me with 419 flags in total, instead of the 426 I’d calculated.

  
Work has stopped while I await the arrival of my ebay bargain – a job lot of 120 metres of bias binding for £10!

So, I’ve done a little on my cross stitch and, today, I’ve started thinking about the rag doll I’m making for my friend’s little girl. Like my pirate rag doll, she will be based on Laura Hunter’s Mollie the Dolly pattern, which was featured in The Big Comic Relief Crafternoon. Having raided my scraps box, I was toying with putting her in a t-shirt and jeans …
  
But having discovered Laura Hunter’s Facebook page, I’m now overwhelmed by possibilities … Pretty dress or ballerina outfit … Decisions, decisions. 

This week, I’ve also finally embraced Instagram. Better late than never, hey?! You can follow me here, I hope.  

I’m playing around with watermarking my photos, having found that some of my photos are coming up in Google image searches now. I know opinions are divided over doing this, but I read a very compelling argument for doing it here.

Back soon!

5 thoughts on “Flagging

    • I can’t take the credit for that idea, my good friend ThePolkaDotGiraffe wondered aloud if such a thing existed when I was debating the quickest way to make the bunting. And, as if by magic, they do exist!

Leave a Reply

