Betsy the Ballerina

Super-quick post before we head off to meet a friend at Bluewater (a shopping mall for non-UK readers). Last time I met this particular friend at a shopping centre, we were both heavily pregnant and I went into labour that night! This time, we’ll have two toddlers In tow. Not much shopping will be done. But she lives in Suffolk and I live in Surrey, so it’s a good halfway point.

I’ve finished the rag doll I’ve made for a friend’s little girl’s 2nd birthday. I decided to make a ballerina in the end. As with my Polly the Pirate doll, I adapted Laura Hunter’s Mollie the dolly pattern from The Big Comic Relief Crafternoon magazine.

I had to visit three fabric shops to find some pale pink and white polka dot fabric as I didn’t have quite enough left over from the bunting I made for the same little girl last year.

  
Betsy Ballerina had her photoshoot this morning, following the completion of her tutu which I made by following a tutorial from thetiptoefairy.com. It was really easy to make.

  

 
  

I think I will trim the tutu a bit, as its a bit ‘gypsy wedding’ at the moment. I’m pleased with the ric rac I added above the shoes to give the effect of ribbon laces.

 
Her collar is a bit wonky, which is a shame. I couldn’t face unpicking it a third time though.

  

I’m a little worried she looks a bit like an alien. Can’t help but feel a bit disappointed with the end result. Hopefully little Ava won’t notice this. What it is to be a perfectionist!?

One thought on “Betsy the Ballerina

Leave a Reply

