Last-minute Mummy-make: No-sew sheep costume

Sorry to have been quiet of late, moving house whilst heavily pregnant has put paid to much crafting. 

My Little Man started pre-school last month, his first foray into the world of childcare. At the grand old age of two, he’s able to express to me that he’s not all that happen about this recent development. Shortly after he started, I was notified that he was going to be a sheep in their nativity play. Me being me, my immediate thought was ‘How can I make him a costume?’ even though I’m moving house in a matter of weeks and will have no time to do so. I spotted some sheep costumes in the supermarket and I was going to go back and buy one so I had something in reserve ‘just in case’. Of course, I’ve been back multiple times since and they’ve never had his size. How many times do I need to learn the lesson of: buy something when you see it. So, that left me with no choice but to do a Mummy-make. What I’m sure is going to be the first of many costumes …

Never one to leave things til the last minute 😉, I began work on this yesterday afternoon. (His nativity was today!) Luckily for me, this was a quick make. I based it on a costume I saw here.

For the body, I used a long-sleeved plain white t-shirt, two bags of cotton wool balls, a glue gun and about 10 glue sticks:


I stuck the balls of cotton wool on in sections, like this: 
Voila! I used a clump of balls at the back, for a tail and left it hung up to dry for a bit. The top took about 20 minutes to make, super quick!

  
Once Little Man was safely tucked up in bed last night, and I’d reattached some cotton wool balls which had fallen off the top, I set out to make him a sheep headband. Luckily, I happened to have a white alice band, which also fitted his had, so I used that. I had some leftover black and white felt, from which I cut out two white ears and two black ears, and a circle of white for the head. I’d run out of cotton wool at this point, so ending up ripping some bits of leftover wadding into balls (this actually worked much better than the cotton wool and I wished I used it for the top too).  

Rather than get my sewing machine put, I opted to stick one ear piece in white felt to the corresponding black piece, times two. I stuck the wadding balls to the white circle and stuck the circle to the alice band. I stuck the ears either side of the circle and used extra wadding balls to hide the joins.    

The finished outfit. 

  
Little Man doesn’t own any black trousers or long sleeved-tops, so I left the sleeves as they were and put him in an old pair of grey jogging bottoms. The cotton wool didn’t last long, by the time he made his stage debut, there were a few bald patches!

  
There were cotton wool balls scattered around the hall and he left a trail through the car park on our way back to the car. 😳

Mummy and her, somewhat unimpressed, little lamb.  

Lessons learnt:

  • For a more durable costume, it would have been better to sew the cotton wool on. Or, use a fabric glue, perhaps.
  • Using wadding scraps is better than using cheap cotton wool.
  • This is a hot outfit to wear and cotton wool gets everywhere!

Do you have any costume successes or failures you’d like to share?

2 thoughts on “Last-minute Mummy-make: No-sew sheep costume

  1. I appreciate your headband idea! My daughter is going to be a sheep in her upcoming chorus recital. They’re supposed to be handmade costumes to last one night. This was just what I was looking for!

Leave a Reply

