Summer crafternoon

Apologies for my quietness of late. I’ve not had much to report as I’ve been busy beavering away on my friend’s wedding bunting, which hasn’t left time for anything else crafty! But, the end is in sight. Sort of.

On Sunday, a few colleagues (old and current) got together for a crafternoon. We usually only manage about two a year due to everyone’s busy schedules. But this year, there have been two already. The previous one was in March, a Comic Relief Crafternoon (which I missed, sob sob).

Our numbers dwindled from six to four, so there was lots of leftover cake and snacks, which got taken into work on Monday. As usual, we were all working on completely different things.

Emily, pro-crocheter, fixed my little man’s blanket (which had suffered from a run in with a peg and a toddler, no names mentioned …) and worked on her latest commission, a rainbow blanket.

P1030538

Maddy made some bracelets. Look at all her lovely beads!

P1030537

P1030535

Lucy worked on a Pocahontas cross stitch, a birthday present for a friend.

P1030540

P1030539

And can you guess what I did? Yes, my trusty sewing machine came along so I could carry on with the bunting. First, I had to sort out this horrid tangle of binding though.

P1030530

I really have lost the love for this bunting now. It’s become a real chore. But with 120 metres to do, I suppose that’s bound to happen. (For anyone interested, 120 metres equates to nine and a bit double-decker buses lined up in a row.) I’m going for the little and often approach as it’s so dull, but that means it’s taking aaaaaaages. So, it was nice on Sunday to whizz through some whilst having conversation, company and cake.

P1030542

P1030541

At last count, I had about 130 flags (of 420) left to sew. For my own sanity – and because there’s a few other bits I’d like to make for the wedding (hay bale covers, anyone?) – I’m aiming to have it finished by the end of July. Which doesn’t give me long!

Oh, and for those who’ve hung in there til the bitter end of this post, I have an announcement. My craft time is going to dwindle even less as I’m expecting a baby in January. With a toddler and a newborn, I suspect my ‘me’ AKA ‘craft’ time will be somewhat limited! So I better get cracking, while I still have a little free time.

8 thoughts on “Summer crafternoon

  1. Pingback: My 2015 makes | theunfinishedcrafter

Leave a comment